



## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: ECA Press Office Date: 05/13/2021 Telephone: 202-632-6452

## Paul Arthur Berkman Receives Fulbright Arctic Chair 2021-2022 to Norway for SCIENCE DIPLOMACY AND INFORMED DECISIONMAKING FOR ARCTIC OCEAN SUSTAINABILITY

The U.S. Department of State and the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board are pleased to announce that Paul Arthur Berkman of Massachusetts with the Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School and United Nations Institute for Training and Research has received a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program award to Norway. Berkman will research and lecture at UiT | The Arctic University of Norway as part of a project to apply "Science Diplomacy and Informed Decisionmaking for Arctic Ocean Sustainability." This Fulbright Arctic Chair project will focus on the Arctic Ocean, contributing to the "common Arctic issues" of "sustainable development and environmental protection" established with the Arctic Council by the eight Arctic States and six Indigenous Peoples' Organizations with their 1996 Ottawa Declaration. As a region, the Arctic also is a "common concern of humankind" as shared with the 1992 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. Background for this project emanates from Antarctica, where nations have been consulting continuously on "matters of common interest" since the 1959 Antarctic Treaty, facilitating cooperation between allies and adversaries alike throughout, especially with Russia and the United States.

As a Fulbright Scholar, Berkman will share knowledge and foster meaningful connections across communities in the United States and Norway. Fulbrighters engage in cutting-edge research and expand their professional networks, often continuing research collaborations started abroad and laying the groundwork for forging future partnerships between institutions. Upon returning to their institutions, labs, and classrooms, in the United States, they share their stories and often become active supporters of international exchange, inviting foreign scholars to campus and encouraging colleagues and students to go abroad. As Fulbright Scholar alumni, their careers are enriched by joining a network of thousands of esteemed scholars, many of whom are leaders in their fields. Fulbright alumni include 60 Nobel Prize laureates, 88 Pulitzer Prize recipients, and 39 who have served as a head of state or government.

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government's flagship international educational exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries around the world. The Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs is pleased to announce that 2021 marks the 75th Anniversary of the Fulbright Program. Celebrations throughout the year will highlight the impressive accomplishments and legacy of the program and its alumni over its first 75 years, both in the United States and around the world. A dedicated 75th Anniversary website - www.fulbright75.org - is being updated throughout 2021 to showcase anniversary events and to facilitate ongoing engagement.

Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 400,000 participants from over 160 countries the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright program is an annual appropriation by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support.

Prof. Berkman can be reached by email: <a href="mailto:pberkman@law.harvard.edu">pberkman@law.harvard.edu</a> or <a href="mailto:paul.berkman@unitar.org">paul.berkman@unitar.org</a> or telephone: 617-902-8361 (https://scidiplo.org/). For further information about the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State, please visit http://eca.state.gov/fulbright or contact the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Press Office by telephone 202-632-6452 or e-mail ECA-Press@state.gov.